North Carolina

State Parks Guide 2018

brochure North Carolina - State Parks Guide 2018
Pettigrew State Park South Mountains State Park – 2018 Park of the Year Weymouth Woods-Sandhills Nature Preserve North Carolina Division of Parks and Recreation manages more than 234,000 acres of iconic landscape across our state in our parks, recreation areas and natural areas with a mission dedicated to conservation, recreation and education. The state parks system welcomed more than 19 million visitors in 2017. Discover More with a Ranger Across North Carolina, state park rangers are proud of our parks and eager to welcome you and your family. Come to our parks to marvel at our state’s most beautiful natural resources, enjoy your favorite outdoor activities and learn about the rich science, culture and history that make our parks great. Fun facts about North Carolina State Parks ■■ There are 41 places to visit, including 34 parks, four recreation areas and three staffed state natural areas. ■■ The Division manages four state rivers, seven state lakes and six state trails. ■■ There are about 581 miles of trail to explore in our parks. ■■ The first state park created was Mount Mitchell State Park on March 3, 1915. Fort Macon State Park was the second. ■■ The Division celebrated 100 years of being Naturally Wonderful in 2016. ■■ Parks that welcome over 1 million visitors annually include: Jockey’s Ridge, Fort Macon and William B. Umstead state parks and Falls Lake, Jordan Lake and Kerr Lake state recreation areas. ■■ The Division employs over 1,000 people across the state. ■■ Some www.ncparks.gov M N P Q Roy Cooper Governor unique activities you can do in our parks include: wind surfing and hang gliding at Jockey’s Ridge State Park, cross country skiing and snow shoeing at Elk Knob State Park, driving on the four-wheel-drive beach at Fort Fisher State Recreation Area and rock climbing at Chimney Rock, Crowders Mountain, Hanging Rock, Pilot Mountain and Stone Mountain state parks. Susi H. Hamilton Secretary 75,000 copies of this public document were printed at a cost of $10,707.92 or $0.14 each. 03/18 Did you know that many plants atop Mount Mitchell are rare in North Carolina but common in Quebec? That the giant sand dunes at Jockey’s Ridge are constantly moving? Do you know how to safely hold a crayfish? From fishing lessons to astronomy programs and tree identification hikes to guided paddles, parks offer programs for all ages. Visit our website for a list of upcoming programs at each park. Junior Rangers The Junior Ranger program offers educational and skill-based activities to encourage children to explore the outdoors. Children can complete activity guides, geared for ages 6-12, and attend ranger programs to earn a junior ranger patch unique to each park. Ask about the program at a park office or download the guide at: www.ncparks.gov/junior-rangers. Environmental Education Learning Experiences Parks have their own curriculum guides that are correlated to the North Carolina Standard Course of Study. Competency goals in science, social studies, mathematics and English/language arts are available. Each program includes pre-visit, on-site and post-visit student activities that have measurable objectives, background information, vocabulary, references and step-bystep activity instructions. Passport Program How many state parks can you visit? Use your passport as a guide and collect stamps, earn prizes and make “Naturally Wonderful” memories! Pick up your passport at a state park near you. North Carolina State Parks 100-Mile Challenge Can you hike, bike or paddle 100 miles in a year? Join the N.C. State Parks’ 100-Mile Challenge and log your miles online to earn digital badges and redeem prizes as you reach various milestones! This is a great way to get outside, get moving and keep track of your activity. Visit www.nc100miles.org to sign up. ■■ Several parks have educational trails, called TRACK trails, that include activities for children to complete along the way. William B. Umstead State Park Jockey’s Ridge State Park Friends Of State Parks Join the Friends of State Parks to help support, promote and advocate for the parks system as a whole, or join the friends group of your favorite park. The group helps provide funding for Junior Ranger and Youth in Parks – Environmental Education programs, as well as grants for state parks projects. You can also make a donation to help keep our parks around for future generations. Learn more at www.ncfsp.org or www.ncparks.gov/support-your-parks. Merchandise Want to show your N.C. State Parks pride? Visit the online webstore and purchase products such as coffee mugs, prints, t-shirts, pins, patches and Christmas ornaments. This exclusive merchandise makes a great gift for special state parks fans, including yourself. www.ncparkstore.com N.C. State Parks License Plate Show your support for state parks every time you drive your vehicle! Purchase an N.C. State Parks license plate through the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles and get a free oneyear membership to the Friends of State Parks. Fort Fisher State Recreation Area Take advantage of the full state parks experience with our Annual Pass program! Boat rentals, swim passes and entry to recreational areas are included, as well as unique experiences like the ferry at Hammocks Beach, four-wheel-drive access at Fort Fisher and bike rentals at Dismal Swamp. Mountains-to-Sea State Trail Established in 1973, the North Carolina Trails Program works to help citizens, organizations and agencies plan, develop and manage all types of trails, from greenways and trails for hiking, biking and horseback riding to paddle trails and offroad vehicle trails. Focus is given to developing sustainable trails, efficient trail maintenance, trail safety and developing accessible trail options. Learn more about volunteering and available opportunities at www.ncparks.gov/volunteer or contact a state park near you. Mountains-to-Sea State Trail: A path that will link Clingman’s Dome in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park to Jockey’s Ridge State Park on the Outer Banks, this is the flagship project of the N.C. Trails Program. Today, over 650 miles of the planned 1,400-mile route are open for use. Mount Mitchell State Park Get your pass now for a year of outdoor fun! Yadkin River State Trail: The 130-mile paddle trail begins at W. Kerr Scott Reservoir, traverses seven counties and ends at High Rock Lake. Access is available along the blueway. Picnic Shelters Reservable picnic shelters are affordable and ideal for large group gatherings. Unreserved picnic shelters are available free of charge on a first-come-first-served basis. However, the shelters are very popular, so reservations are strongly suggested. Auditoriums/Classrooms Ideal for civic groups, clubs and educational events, many parks have classrooms and/or auditoriums that seat from 25 to 100 people available to reserve. Conference rooms with seating up to 15 people are also available. Fonta Flora State Trail: This trail will connect Morganton and Asheville, looping around Lake James for spectacular scenery. Portions of this hiking trail will be open to biking as well. Hickory Nut Gorge State Trail: Authorized in 2017, this newest state trail will create a hiking and biking path around Lake Lure, through Chimney Rock State Park and circling Bearwallow Mountain. Reservations can be made online at our website, by calling 1-877-722-6762 or in person at most state park offices. Online reservations must be made with a credit or debit card. Phone reservations can be made with a credit or debit card, money order or check. The state parks system has over 3,000 campsites available for reservation, including group sites, hike-in sites, canoe-in sites and equestrian sites. Camper, vacation or primitive cabins are also available at Carolina Beach, Cliffs of the Neuse, Hanging Rock, Morrow Mountain and William B. Umstead state parks. Deep River State Trail: This hiking and paddling hybrid trail will start at the river’s headwaters near Jamestown, continuing through Randolph, Moore and Chatham counties, and ending at the confluence of the Deep River and Haw River near Moncure. French Broad River State Trail: Starting from Rosman, N.C., this paddle trail extends 117 miles to the Tennessee-North Carolina border. Access is available along the blueway. Lake James State Park Camping and Cabins In addition to the trails within our state parks, the Division is responsible for planning and coordinating the management of state trails. Currently, there are 6 state trails showcasing the natural, cultural and historic resources of North Carolina. If you’re bringing your family or friends on your adventures, choose the Family Pass. It’s the best deal for your group of six —whether it’s your kids, your siblings or your hiking and biking buddies. For a list of locations where you can buy the passes, visit www.ncparks.gov/annual-pass-program. Do you have a special skill set that would benefit our parks? We offer a variety of volunteer positions—from improving park grounds and leading education workshops to serving as a campground host. No matter how you volunteer, you will play an important role in the mission of the state parks system by helping preserve and protect our natural resources while providing for their use and enjoyment by visitors. Medoc Mountain State Park Community Buildings Community buildings are available at Falls Lake and Kerr Lake state recreation areas and Lake Norman, Morrow Mountain and New River state parks. Community buildings have a large meeting space, kitchen facilities and restrooms. Some also have a fireplace and/or grills. MAKE RESERVATIONS TODAY! ncparks.gov/make-reservation 1-877-722-6762 Fort Macon State Park 77 85 17 85 Winston Salem 40 95 85 40 Goldsboro 77 26 74 95 17 74 Camping Activities Amenities 40 Camper Cabins Biking Boat ramp Primitive Cabins Fishing Boat rental Four-wheel-drive beach Concessions Hiking Marina Hiking - over 5 miles Playground Equestrian camping Horseback riding Reservable facilities Group camping Paddling Restaurant Electric hookup Picnicking Showers Water hookup Rock climbing Visitor center Dump station Swimming Vacation Cabins 4WD Camping Canoe-in camping 5+ miles Carolina Beach State Park P1010 State Park Road, Carolina Beach, NC 28428 q910-458-8206 Ecarolina.beach@ncparks.gov 74 17 City P743 Chimney Rock Park Road, Chimney Rock, NC 28720 q828-625-1823 Echimney.rock@ncparks.gov Fort Macon State Park P2303 E. Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512 q252-726-3775 Efort.macon@ncparks.gov Hickory Nut Gorge State Trail Lake James State Park P7321 N.C. 126, Nebo, NC 28761 q828-584-7728 Elake.james@ncparks.gov Cliffs of the Neuse State Park P240 Park Entrance Road, Seven Springs, NC 28578 q919-778-6234 Ecliffs.neuse@ncparks.gov 5+ miles Occoneechee Mountain State Natural Area P625 Virginia Cates Road, Hillsborough, NC 27278 q919-383-1686 Eeno.river@ncparks.gov 5+ miles P2190 Camp Leach Road, Washington, NC 27889 q252-923-2191 Egoose.creek@ncparks.gov Lake Norman State Park P759 State Park Road, Troutman, NC 28166 q704-528-6350 Elake.norman@ncparks.gov 5+ miles Pettigrew State Park P2252 Lake Shore Road, Creswell, NC 27928 q252-797-4475 Epettigrew@ncparks.gov 5+ miles P976 Grassy Ridge Road, Sapphire, NC 28774 q828-966-9099 Egorges@ncparks.gov 5+ miles Lake Waccamaw State Park P1866 State Park Drive, Lake Waccamaw, NC 28450 q910-646-4748 Elake.waccamaw@ncparks.gov 5+ miles Pilot Mountain State Park P1792 Pilot Knob Park Road, Pinnacle, NC 27043 q336-325-2355 Epilot.mountain@ncparks.gov 5+ miles Grandfather Mountain State Park 5+ miles Planned Trail Yadkin River State Trail Gorges State Park Chimney Rock State Park Fonta Flora State Trail Mountains-to-Sea State Trail Goose Creek State Park P2505 Long Valley Road, Spring Lake, NC 28390 q910-436-4681 Ecarvers.creek@ncparks.gov Existing Trail French Broad River State Trail N.C. State Park 5+ miles Carvers Creek State Park Deep River State Trail P9872 N.C. 105 S., Suite 6, Banner Elk, NC 28604 q828-963-9522 Egrandfather.mountain@ncparks.gov 5+ miles Lumber River State Park P2819 Princess Ann Road, Orrum, NC 28369 q910-628-4564 Elumber.river@ncparks.gov 5+ miles Raven Rock State Park P3009 Raven Rock Road, Lillington, NC 27546 q910-893-4888 Eraven.rock@ncparks.gov 5+ miles 5+ miles Hammocks Beach State Park Mayo River State Park Singletary Lake State Park Hanging Rock State Park Medoc Mountain State Park South Mountains State Park P1572 Hammocks Beach Road, Swansboro, NC 28584 q910-326-4881 Ehammocks.beach@ncparks.gov P500 Old Mayo Park Road, Mayodan, NC 27027 q336-427-2530 Emayo.river@ncparks.gov P6707 N.C. 53 E., Kelly, NC 28448 q910-669-2928 Esingletary.lake@ncparks.gov Crowders Mountain State Park P522 Park Office Lane, Kings Mountain, NC 28086 q704-853-5375 Ecrowders.mountain@ncparks.gov P1790 Hanging Rock Park Road, Danbury, NC 27016 q336-593-8480 Ehanging.rock@ncparks.gov 5+ miles Dismal Swamp State Park P2294 U.S. 17 N., South Mills, NC 27976 q252-771-6593 Edismal.swamp@ncparks.gov Elk Knob State Park P5564 Meat Camp Road, Todd, NC 28684 q828-297-7261 Eelk.knob@ncparks.gov Haw River State Park Merchants Millpond State Park P176 Millpond Road, Gatesville, NC 27938 q252-357-1191 Emerchants.millpond@ncparks.gov 5+ miles Jockey’s Ridge State Park P49104 Morrow Mountain Road, Albemarle, NC 28001 q704-982-4402 Emorrow.mountain@ncparks.gov Falls Lake State Recreation Area P13304 Creedmoor Road, Wake Forest, NC 27587 q919-676-1027 Efalls.lake@ncparks.gov 5+ miles Fort Fisher State Recreation Area P1000 Loggerhead Road, Kure Beach, NC 28449 q910-458-5798 Efort.fisher@ncparks.gov 4WD P3042 Frank Parkway, Roaring Gap, NC 28668 q336-957-8185 Estone.mountain@ncparks.gov Jones Lake State Park 5+ miles Mount Jefferson State Natural Area P1481 Mount Jefferson State Park Road, West Jefferson, NC 28694 q336-246-9653 Emount.jefferson@ncparks.gov 5+ miles Jordan Lake State Recreation Area P280 State Park Road, Apex, NC 27523 q919-362-0586 Ejordan.lake@ncparks.gov 5+ miles P6254 Satterwhite Point Road, Henderson, NC 27537 q252-438-7791 Ekerr.lake@ncparks.gov William B. Umstead State Park P8801 Glenwood Ave., Raleigh, NC 27617 q919-571-4170 Ewilliam.umstead@ncparks.gov 5+ miles Mount Mitchell State Park P2388 N.C. 128, Burnsville, NC 28714 q828-675-4611 Emount.mitchell@ncparks.gov 5+ miles New River State Park Kerr Lake State Recreation Area Weymouth Woods-Sandhills Nature Preserve P1024 Fort Bragg Road, Southern Pines, NC 28387 q910-692-2167 Eweymouth.woods@ncparks.gov 5+ miles 5+ miles P4117 N.C. 242 N., Elizabethtown, NC 28337 q910-588-4550 Ejones.lake@ncparks.gov 5+ miles Stone Mountain State Park 5+ miles Morrow Mountain State Park Eno River State Park P6101 Cole Mill Road, Durham, NC 27705 q919-383-1686 Eeno.river@ncparks.gov 5+ miles 5+ miles P300 W. Carolista Drive, Nags Head, NC 27959 q252-441-7132 Ejockeys.ridge@ncparks.gov 5+ miles P3001 South Mountain Park Ave., Connelly Springs, NC 28612 q828-433-4772 Esouth.mountains@ncparks.gov 5+ miles 5+ miles P339 Conference Center Drive, Browns Summit, NC 27214 q336-342-6163 Ehaw.river@ncparks.gov 5+ miles P1541 Medoc State Park Road, Hollister, NC 27844 q252-586-6588 Emedoc.mountain@ncparks.gov P358 New River State Park Road, Laurel Springs, NC 28644 q336-982-2587 Enew.river@ncparks.gov 5+ miles MAKE RESERVATIONS TODAY! ncparks.gov/make-reservation 1-877-722-6762 N.C. Division of Parks and Recreation Dept. of Natural and Cultural Resources 1615 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699 (919) 707-9300 www.ncparks.gov When you have finished with this publication, help save our earth by sharing it with a friend, returning it to the park office or recycling it.

also available

National Parks
USFS NW